. . .
I recently read a “Dear Abby” letter a 13-year-old girl submitted. The girl was all over the moon about a 13-year-old boy she met over the internet. She wondered if she was too young to be in love with the boy who was different from the other boys she’s known. She was won over by the sweet things he wrote back to her calling her an “angel” and saying she was “gorgeous” instead of saying she was a “babe” and “hot”; he also had a way with words when she poured out her problems to him.

“Abby” responded by saying [not in so many words, of course] young love was cool but to hold up because the “boy” was using words that adults–not 13-year-old boys–use, so in other words, it’s a no-brainer there’s a predator in the house.

I thought about the double-edged sword it was to write about this because on the one hand, you’re telling the predators what not to do, but then what are the odds they’ll come over to this neck of the woods? On the other hand, if by chance one of the naive little red riding hoods stops by and learns a thing or two here, then the odds may stack up in favor for the hoods.

The reason I’m getting on this bandwagon is because I just recently got my email hijacked. I go too far on the web and as a consequence, I’ve compromised my online space and took my friends along for the ride. My friends are getting bulk spam email sent from my email that I did not send. I used to get spam from my friends that they said they didn’t send. I used to be all high and mighty thinking that that would never happen to me. I’m now eating a truckload of crow.

I did the changing of passwords and other things and so far, so good but it’s only been one day, so we’ll see; I might just have to shut the email down but I hope not.

I’m not sure if this is going to make me be less web friendly. I actually think it might be good to step away from the web some but I don’t really want to do that. There’s so much stuff I could do offline but there’s so much stuff online I haven’t done yet. As you can see, I’m doing battle with myself on this and I can’t feel the win-win situation in this. I don’t wanna talk about it anymore.


_________________
Funmoods’ Online Safety Kit – Little Red Riding Mood/public safety animation from Funmoods, a free add-on for social networks Chat with smileys, winks, text effects and other stuff you use to enhance your chats



00 – introduction
01 – pick your ePoison
02 – plug in or be obsolete
03 – eJunk in the trunk
04.1 – once upon a time in YouTube/episode 1: IN THE BEGINNING
04.2 – once upon a time in YouTube/episode 2: STRANGE MISSILES
04.3 – once upon a time in YouTube/episode 3: HUNGER
04.4a – once upon a time in YouTube/episode 4a: ANOTHER DIMENSION
04.4b – once upon a time in YouTube/episode 4b: SPOTTED!
04.5a – once upon a time in YouTube/episode 5a: CLOSE ENCOUNTERS
04.5b – once upon a time in YouTube/episode 5b: SEE WHAT I SEE?
04.6a – once upon a time in YouTube/episode 6a: DARKNESS
04.6b – once upon a time in YouTube/episode 6b: LIFE AND DEATH
04.7a – once upon a time in YouTube/episode 7a: LIFE IS SUFFERING
04.7b – once upon a time in YouTube/episode 7b: FREE WILL
04.8 – once upon a time in YouTube/episode 8: LAY IT ALL OUT/FINALE
05 – kDrama: Arang and the Magistrate/Reply 1997/The Great Doctor
06 – jDorama: Iki mo Dekinai Natsu
07 – the evil that lurks behind the web curtain
08 – back to the future: The King of Dramas 드라마의 제왕
09 – of turkey and vampires: Let the Right One In vs Twilight